Research governance

3. Grant Advisory Boards

The Grant Advisory Boards are made up of leading experts in research and are in place to provide advice to the Society on decisions relating to the funding and management of our research projects.

The current membership of each board is listed below.

New board members needed

Our Grant Advisory Board members operate on a 3 year term (with the option to renew for a further three years). From October 2016 we are aiming for an annual turnover of our Board members of approximately 25%. If you are interested in joining one of our Boards please download and complete an expression of interest form or email for further information. 

Biomedical grant advisory board

  • Professor Roy Weller (Chair), University of Southampton (Emeritus)
  • Professor Stuart Allan, University of Manchester
  • Professor David Attwell, University College London
  • Professor David Brooks, Imperial College London
  • Dr Joanna Collingwood, University of Warwick
  • Professor Frank Gunn-Moore, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Diane Hanger, Institute of Psychiatry, King' College London
  • Professor Karl Herholz, University of Manchester
  • Professor Paul Ince, University of Sheffield
  • Professor Clare MacKay, University of Oxford
  • Professor Jonathan Mill, University of Exeter
  • Professor Peter Passmore, Queen's University Belfast
  • Professor Bettina Platt, University of Aberdeen
  • Dr John Powell, King's College London
  • Professor Louise Serpell, University of Sussex
  • Professor Maria Grazia Spillantini, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Andrea Tales, Swansea University 
  • Professor Alan Thomas, University of Newcastle

Care, services and public health grant advisory board

  • Professor Steve Iliffe (Chair), University College London (Emeritus)
  • Dr Tony Bayer, Cardiff University
  • Professor Richard Cheston, University of the West of England
  • Professor Linda Clare, University of Exeter
  • Professor Claire Goodman, University of Hertfordshire
  • Dr Iain Lang, University of Exeter
  • Dr Iracema Leroi, University of Manchester
  • Professor Gill Livingston, University College London
  • Professor Jill Manthorpe, King's College London
  • Professor Christine Milligan, Lancaster University 
  • Professor Jan Oyebode, Bradford University
  • Professor Marcus Richards, University College London
  • Dr George Savva, University of East Anglia
  • Professor John Starr, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Denise Taylor, University of Bath
  • Professor Alison Wray, Cardiff University

Implementation grant advisory board

  • Professor Ruth Boaden, University of Manchester Business School
  • Professor Bob Woods, Bangor University
  • Professor Esme Moniz-Cook, University of Hull
  • Professor Martin Knapp, London School of Economics
  • Professor Annette Boaz, Kingston and St George's
  • Alison Rogan, Tunstall Group
  • David Niman, Research Network volunteer
  • Bob Kahn, Research Network volunteer
  • Zoe Campbell, Alzheimer's Society

In order to maintain our position as a transparent funder and to protect our GAB members from accusations of bias, we have a conflict of interest policy.